Spontaneity: take 2

I wasn’t expecting today to be quite as spontaneous as it turned out to be. I actually had a plan, but stuff happened that needed my attention and the plan was no longer so relevant. So I went with it and my day was challenging, a little bit because my expectations were subverted on a few counts, but mostly because of my internal monologue about stuff.

A run down on the wins and fails of my day …

What worked … What didn’t work so well …
Writing a long email to a friend in order to crystallise and navigate the stuff in my head. Being awake at 5am and spending 3 hours writing out the stuff in my head and taking it all very seriously.
Getting out of bed and of the house on the spur of the moment within about 20 minutes despite being knackered. The museum I decided to go to being closed hence not being able to see the exhibition I wanted to.
Being fine with the museum being closed, wandering in the rain and then happily deciding to sort out some boring chores type stuff that needed doing. Wandering around M&S soaking wet, trying to choose knickers that weren’t horrible when I felt like an (unattractive) drowned rat.
Attempting to use humour to engage female shop assistant on the trials of buying knickers. She asked me with utterly straight face “did you try them on?” NO I DIDN’T! HONESTLY, I CANNOT THINK OF ANYTHING MORE STRESSFUL IN AN ALREADY STRESSFUL SITUATION OF BUYING UNDERWEAR. WHICH I HATE DOING. THAT IS WHY I WAS TRYING TO JOKE ABOUT IT. Not my finest hour πŸ˜‰
Racing the bus around the corner from TKMaxx to the Royal Pavillion and winning! Realising I am considerably less fit than I was 6 months ago when I could do that without slowing down.
Being honest with a friend who let me down at the last minute with plans for NYE about my frustrations and feelings about his lack of communication about the situation. This then leaving space for reaffirming our friendship by talking about a few of the things floating round my head at 5am this morning and him helping me shift my perspective and take it all a bit less seriously. Not managing to meet my mate Ash for a cup of tea due to traffic in Brighton being crap.
Meeting Ash for a pint (well, rum & coke for me) later on. Setting off smoke alarm I didn’t know I had in my flat.
2 thoughts on “Spontaneity: take 2

Leave a Reply

