This too shall pass

I am safe and warm in your arms, in our bed, before the day has laid any obligation on either of us.

I noticed grey hairs a day or two ago. Not obvious, unless you’re still (dozing before waking fully in the morning) and I’m running my fingers through your hair (a favourite pastime of mine).

Only a handful scattered in your sideburns, but this discovery made me catch my breath. Then, a welcome distraction and I considered it no more.

This morning my fingers sought those grey hairs. Did I imagine it? No, they’re there. Only visible as you sleep. You’re never still for long enough if awake.

I considered that this too shall pass and one day you’ll be gone. Pulled you close, whispered in your ear that I love you and let you sleep on.

Leave a Reply

