Family dinner

I had a spontaneous invitation from a friend to join her familiy for dinner on Saturday night which was wonderful and wholly unexpected. I always feel humbled when I’m invited to dinner with warmth and enthusiasm and then slightly shy as if not sure what I’ve done to deserve the kindness of the offer.

Is it a figt to be part of someone else’s family for a bit and to sit around the table for dinner. Unusually for me I don’t say a lot, preferring to absorb the family dynamic before wading in with my own take on things. Actually, I get to say my piece all the time in the rest of my life and it is nice to just be a part of this world for a bit without feeling a need to be the centre of attention.

The openess and the generosity of sharing dinner in the heart of your home strikes me, perhaps because in my own family, as I was growing up, visitors had to be planned well in advance. I was bollocked when I invited a friend back unannounced even though it was only for 10 minutes. Here, my presence isn’t viewed as an intrusion. Family life carries on around me, which makes me feel so welcome.

And so I get up to leave and I remember I’ve always hated goodbyes. I feel a pang of regret that there isn’t more of this in my life. One of these days I’ll be matriach of my own little kingdom … with all the worry that entails!

2011-08-29 13.43.36

This is a pic of me with another family I find myself ‘adopted’ into from time to time by virtue of our friendship, this one was taken in Dieppe. I am blessed with lovely and generous friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

