Remote dialogue

Yesterday’s adventuring in Tintagel left me so shattered when I got myself back to the cottage I’m staying in that I could honestly barely move. My head was deep into thoughts of mythology and magic, of which more in another blog post.

Yesterday’s small thing that made a big impact, however, was part of a conversation with someone I’ve been having remotely while in Cornwall. I get very excited about the chance to read fiction when I am away on holiday and often agonise over which books to take to ensure I have something I enjoy readiDSCF8480ng while I’m away.

Having recently met a writer, whose company for a coffee I found charming and very welcome while I was in Rome, I was interested to read his work. I love to read the writing of people I know or I’ve met. When I wrote about writing as part of my MA I went to great length to illustrate my understanding of writing and reading as creating a dialogue over time and distance. A remote dialogue, if you like, which introduces the possibility to leave gaps in the dialogue that are entirely different to those found in a one to one conversation.  Gaps which the reader must fill for themselves without recourse to the usual personal context that accompanies a conversation.

Charles Lambert’s Little Monsters has captivated me during my holiday and unusually for me, I’ve read the whole novel in less than a week. As we’ve met and follow each other on twitter I wanted to let him know how much I enjoyed the book.

Reading writing by someone I’ve met doesn’t erode that space between reader and writing, but it does introduce the writer as a very real entity which I find adds another layer of interest and possibly defines more clearly the boundaries of that space. It mattered to me to share my love of his book because I was fairly certain it would mean a lot to Charles to hear it. And indeed, his delight at recieving my thoughts was palpable even through the restricted medium of 140 characters! 😉

I treasure this: being able to make a connection with another human being through their somewhat abstracted one to many statement to the world and also through a more immediate, ephemeral and one to one dialogue.

Leave a Reply

