Slowing to a halt

It’s been a day of snshine, wide bright blue skies and, in more sheltered spots, hazy nearly warmth. I took myself to the Lost Gardens of Heligan and revelled in the sunshine, finally feeling like I’d found some Spring. I took a quiet path at the Eastern edge of the estate and ambled happily, even pausing to take my coat off and enjoy the freedom of not having to wear it.

The path was out of the wind and it was seductively warm so I lay down on one of the benches to sunbath a bit, which was glorious. There was no one else around and all I could hear was the rustling of some birds in the hedgerow next to me. I drifted in and out of different threads of thought for a bit with the warmth of the sun on my face and with no more effort required than to be still and quiet, drifted off into a doze.

Everything stopped, quietly and gently, in the middle of the day which so rarely happens for me any more. I wasn’t even disturbed by any other walkers, which made me feel like it was a bubble of time, space and sunshine just for me.

🙂

DSCF8412

Leave a Reply

