Focal distance

I’m blogging from Cornwall, I’m on holiday and it is lovely! I only arrived this afternoon but I’ve been for a wander along the beach and watched the waves crashing on a very different shore to the one in Brighton.

Cornwall is important to mDSCF7902e and I’ve come back to the same place that I visited on the very first holiday I had after I split with my husband back in 2008. It was the first time I’d ever chosen a holiday for myself and the first time I’d gone away on my own.

I remember vividly standing on the beach, looking out to sea and feeling my perspective shift. I’ve always found peace in staring out to sea and the sheer scale of the beach here reminds me forcibly just how small my daily anxieties are in the face of the rest of the world. I had completely forgotten about it, but had exactly the same experience as I wandered along the waterline this evening as the skies darkened around me.

I love the feeling of having so much space in every direction. I can’t think of anywhere else I’ve been where there feels as if there is anywhere near as much room to think and to be. It is beautiful and inspiring: I am so lucky and grateful to experience being here.

DSCF7911

2 thoughts on “Focal distance

    1. Haha, I do occasionally go other places 😉 North Cornwall is another place I’ve fallen in love with 🙂

Leave a Reply

